Welcome

Please click here to see the latest advice regarding the Coronavirus from the DFE.

Safeguarding

“Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is everyone’s responsibility. Everyone who comes into contact with children and their families has a role to play.” Keeping Children Safe in Education, 2019.

With this in mind, if you are concerned about the welfare of a child and believe that they are in imminent risk of harm, please call 999.

Anyone can make a referral to social care on the following number: 0115 876 4800

You can also contact myself, Mrs E Ashdown (Safeguarding Lead) or Mrs E Thorne (Deputy Safeguarding Lead) on 0115 915 5808 or 07739 303561 during normal school hours.

Please view the COVID-19 – Addendum to Safeguarding Policy by clicking here.

Wellbeing

These next few weeks and months are going to be challenging for all of us.  Your children may be at home with you and relying on you for their education, you may be isolating yourself and your families from others or you may be one of the many key workers who we will rely upon in these difficult times.  We do believe however, that together, as a community, we can get through this by being kind and supportive to one another.

It is important that whilst you may not be able to visit family and friends to spend time socialising via safe means such as video connections.  It is also important for everyone’s mental health and wellbeing to keep active and exercise.  Being isolated in the home may drive us to distraction and cause us to have feelings of low mood and anxiety.  In the event of this occurring, please contact the varying helplines that will still be available during this time.

Samaritans

0330 094 5717 or 116 123

Shout

Shout offers confidential 24/7 crisis text support for times when you need immediate assistance.Text “SHOUT” to 85258 or visit Shout Crisis Text Line

NHS

NHS 111 advice online

HopelineUK

Crisis support for young people:  If you are under 35 and feel that life is not worth living any more, call Papyrus’s HopelineUK from 9am to 10pm weekdays and 2pm to 10pm on weekends. Call HopelineUK on 0800 068 41 41; Text 07786 209697.   Visit the Papyrus website

CALM

CALM is the Campaign Against Living Miserably, for people in the UK who are down or have hit a wall for any reason.Call 0800 58 58 58 (daily, 5pm to midnight).  Free, anonymous webchat with trained staffVisit the CALM website

DfE

Coronavirus helpline – 0800 468687

DfE.coronavirushelpline@education.gov.uk

INTERNET SAFETY

UK Council for Internet Safety- https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/uk-council-for-internet-safety

UK Safer Internet Centre – https://www.saferinternet.org.uk/

South West Grid for Learning – https://swgfl.org.uk/

SAFEGUARDING

Childline – https://www.childline.org.uk/

CEOP – https://www.ceop.police.uk/safety-centre/

Internet Matters – https://www.internetmatters.org/

Net Aware – https://www.net-aware.org.uk/

MENTAL HEALTH

ThinkUKnow – https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk/

YoungMinds – https://youngminds.org.uk/

Mental Health Foundation – https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/

NHS Every Mind Matters – https://www.nhs.uk/oneyou/every-mind-matters/

Anna Freud National Centre for Children and Families –https://www.annafreud.org/

Childrens Society – https://www.childrenssociety.org.uk/

Place2be – https://www.place2be.org.uk/

Shout – https://www.giveusashout.org/

CORONAVIRUS

NHS 111 – https://111.nhs.uk/

Public Health England –https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/public-health-england

BEREAVEMENT

Winstons Wish – https://www.winstonswish.org/

Grief Encounter – https://www.griefencounter.org.uk/

Childhood Bereavement Network – http://www.childhoodbereavementnetwork.org.uk/

Hope Again – https://www.hopeagain.org.uk/

 WELCOME TO ST ANN’S WELL ACADEMY

At St Ann’s Well Academy we believe that every child can succeed and we aim to provide the right conditions to ensure that every child does succeed! We strive to create a happy, harmonious learning community which provides education and care of the highest quality for every pupil.

During the time you spend at St Ann’s Well, you will notice that every child is known and valued as an individual so that they feel safe and secure, and enjoy their time at school. We are a school where everyone really does matter and we work hard to nurture confidence, self-esteem and independence in order for the children to move on in their lives as successful, self-motivated learners.

As a culturally diverse school serving an inner-city area, we place great emphasis on the successful acquisition of the basic skills of Literacy and Mathematics as a springboard for future success. We also know that the promotion of every child’s self-esteem, sense of responsibility and curiousity are vital building blocks to the development of rounded, successful young people.

The key to this development is providing outstanding teaching which reflects and responds to both the academic and the social and emotional needs of the children. Through high expectations, personalising the learning experience and providing accurately targeted support which is clear about the intended outcomes, we can maximise the progress which can be made by children of all abilities and backgrounds.

Since its creation in 2008, St. Ann’s Well has improved year on year and we continue to look at how we can further improve what we provide. We have a strong commitment to work in collaboration in order to ensure that we provide the very best outcomes for the families we serve.

We welcome you to St Ann’s Well and joining us on our continuing journey.

Mrs E Thorne

Headteacher